Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 11 Argumentative Essay: Home

Recommended Databases

 

Explores today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.

____________________________________

provides access to nearly 5,000 titles that offer global coverage on a wide range of subjects: arts, business, current events, education, health, language arts, sciences, social sciences, and more. It features a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

______________________________________

Covers today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.

 

Click here for additional databases

For access to databases outside of school, click here for usernames and passwords. You must be logged into your MCPS Google account to view this document.

More Research Help

Click on the Picture for Research Help

Database Search Tips

Search by Subject:   is the most precise way to search article databases. Database looks for subjects only in the subject heading or descriptor field, where the most relevant words appear

Search by Keyword: is how you typically search web search engines.  Think of important words or phrases and type them in to get results.

Advanced Search Options:

Boolean operators:

  • They connect your search words together to either narrow or broaden your set of results.
  • The three basic boolean operators are: ANDOR, and NOT.

Use AND in a search to:

  • narrow your results
  • tell the database that ALL search terms must be present in the resulting records

Use OR in a search to:

  • connect two or more similar concepts (synonyms)
  • broaden your results, telling the database that ANY of your search terms can be present in the resulting records

Use NOT in a search to:

  • exclude words from your search
  • narrow your search, telling the database to ignore concepts that may be implied by your search terms

Stop Words:

Stop words are frequently occurring, insignificant words that appear in a database record, article or web page.

Common stop words include: a, an, the, in, of, on, are

Helpful Websites

News:

Associated Press

NPR

USA Today

General Websites:

Pro Con.org:  Pros and cons of controversial issues -- gathered by an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit group

How to Search for Statistical Websites Using Google

When searching the Internet it is important to identify your topic keywords carefully and try using synonyms. Add in terms like “data” or “statistics”. Use advanced search features such as the “site:” command which allows you to limit your search to a certain website or domain. For example, if you think that the government is a likely producer of the statistics you need end your search with the command “site:.gov” to only search within government websites.

Using the "site" feature: allows you to search within a site. For example: [ iraq site:nytimes.com ] or [ iraq site:.gov ]
One way to find more reliable sources is to limit by the following domains with the site limiter:

  • .gov
  • .edu
  • .org
  • .mil

Click on the image to enlarge

Note Taking Tool