Skip to main content

English 9 Education Research: Home

Topics

  • College tuition/affordability
  • Affirmative action
  • Standardized testing
  • Homework
  • School Uniforms
  • Separation of church & state
  • Paying college athletes
  • Same sex education

Suggested Databases

Comprehensive collection of multimedia resources including books, newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, selected web-links, and video clips

Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, and more

Current events, U.S. government resources, arts and humanities; relevant Internet links

 

Click here for additional databases

More Research Help

Click on the Picture for Research Help

Presentation Tips

  • Keep it Simple - decide which information is most important, organize that information into your presentation
  • Limit the amount of text on your slides - Remember your slideshow should be a visual representation of the information you are presenting.
  • Know your topic and the main ideas you want to present.
  • Use colors that are appealing
  • Use high quality graphics and charts when necessary

Search Tips

Search by Subject:   is the most precise way to search article databases. Database looks for subjects only in the subject heading or descriptor field, where the most relevant words appear

Search by Keyword: is how you typically search web search engines.  Think of important words or phrases and type them in to get results.

Advanced Search Options:

Boolean operators:

  • They connect your search words together to either narrow or broaden your set of results.
  • The three basic boolean operators are: ANDOR, and NOT.

Use AND in a search to:

  • narrow your results
  • tell the database that ALL search terms must be present in the resulting records

Use OR in a search to:

  • connect two or more similar concepts (synonyms)
  • broaden your results, telling the database that ANY of your search terms can be present in the resulting records

Use NOT in a search to:

  • exclude words from your search
  • narrow your search, telling the database to ignore concepts that may be implied by your search terms

Stop Words:

Stop words are frequently occurring, insignificant words that appear in a database record, article or web page.

Common stop words include: a, an, the, in, of, on, are

How to Google

How to Search for Statistical Websites Using Google

When searching the Internet it is important to identify your topic keywords carefully and try using synonyms. Add in terms like “data” or “statistics”. Use advanced search features such as the “site:” command which allows you to limit your search to a certain website or domain. For example, if you think that the government is a likely producer of the statistics you need end your search with the command “site:.gov” to only search within government websites.

Using the "site" feature: allows you to search within a site. For example: [ iraq site:nytimes.com ] or [ iraq site:.gov ]
One way to find more reliable sources is to limit by the following domains with the site limiter:

  • .gov
  • .edu
  • .org
  •  

Click on the image to enlarge

Cite your Sources!