Skip to Main Content

English 9- Mental Illness Research Project: Home

Recommended Databases

Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that support student research

Online access to more than 600 reference sources in all subject areas.

Explore topics within business and economics, geography, government, history, literature, science and health, social issues, and more.

 

 Explores opposing sides of the most important issues 

More than 11,000 editor-created Research Topics pages deliver the essential elements on a vast array of people, places, historical events and eras, literary genres, current events, broad curricular themes and much more

Click on the image for access to database passwords at home

More Research Help

Click on the Picture for Research Help

Database Search Tips

Search by Subject:   is the most precise way to search article databases. Database looks for subjects only in the subject heading or descriptor field, where the most relevant words appear

Search by Keyword: is how you typically search web search engines.  Think of important words or phrases and type them in to get results.

Advanced Search Options:

Boolean operators:

  • They connect your search words together to either narrow or broaden your set of results.
  • The three basic boolean operators are: AND, OR, and NOT.

Use AND in a search to:

  • narrow your results
  • tell the database that ALL search terms must be present in the resulting records

Use OR in a search to:

  • connect two or more similar concepts (synonyms)
  • broaden your results, telling the database that ANY of your search terms can be present in the resulting records

Use NOT in a search to:

  • exclude words from your search
  • narrow your search, telling the database to ignore concepts that may be implied by your search terms

Stop Words:

Stop words are frequently occurring, insignificant words that appear in a database record, article or web page.

Common stop words include: a, an, the, in, of, on, are

Topics

Groups will be assigned a time period ( 20’s-30’s, 40’a-50’s, 60’s-70’s, 80’s-90’s, or  2000's) and have to research the following:
 

- Prevalence of mental illness/types

- Notable doctors/scientists/researchers 
- Treatment facilities- locations, types, condition, etc.
- Treatment for mental illness (therapies, drugs, etc.)
- Society’s treatment/views of people with mental illness

Cite your Sources!

Heed Help with Noodletools?