AP Lang Mental Health : Recommended Databases

General Database good for background information.  Features full-text scholarly journals and select general interest articles.

 Provides information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.

Specialized database - includes in-depth coverage of body systems, current health issues, major diseases and conditions and more.

Good for scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.

Provides self-help support. Topics include diseases, drugs and alcohol, nutrition, mental health,and more.

______________________________________________

Click here for the complete list of databases.  Access to usernames and passwords can also be be found here. 

You must be logged into your MCPS Google account to view this document.

Search by Keyword: is how you typically search web search engines.  Think of important words or phrases and type them in to get results.

Search by Subject:   is the most precise way to search article databases. Database looks for subjects only in the subject heading or descriptor field, where the most relevant words appear

Advanced Search Options:

Boolean operators:

• They connect your search words together to either narrow or broaden your set of results.
• The three basic boolean operators are: AND, OR, and NOT.

Use AND in a search to:

• narrow your results
• tell the database that ALL search terms must be present in the resulting records

Use OR in a search to:

• connect two or more similar concepts (synonyms)
• broaden your results, telling the database that ANY of your search terms can be present in the resulting records

Use NOT in a search to:

• exclude words from your search
• narrow your search, telling the database to ignore concepts that may be implied by your search terms

Stop Words:

Stop words are frequently occurring, insignificant words that appear in a database record, article or web page.

Common stop words include: a, an, the, in, of, on, are