A suite of databases that focus on history. Databases included in this package include: American Government, American History, The African American Experience, Latino American Experience, World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras, World History, the Modern Era, World Religions.
Provides over 100,000 new and revised articles, with contributions from more than 100 Nobel laureates, numerous heads of state, Pulitzer Prize winners, leading professors, and experts in all fields of human endeavor.
Academic OneFile Select provides full-text scholarly journals and select general interest articles from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Includes vocational and technical titles as well.
Information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history.
ImageQuest provides access to more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
_____________________________________________________
Click here for the complete list of databases and passwords
1. Search terms - Identify your key concepts and terms related to your topic. ( time period, historical event, etc...)
2. Select the appropriate database- Use the recommended databases to start your search. Britannica is a good starting point for your 1st source.
3. Start with a basic search - Enter your search term as one word, you do not need to enter a whole sentence or phrase to search.
4. Examine your results and try another search if necessary - Read/skim through the articles to determine if it can be used for your research.
5. Save or download articles you plan to use - You can save articles directly to your Google drive or save to your device.
6. Cite your source! - Once you've found the article you plan to use, enter the citation in Noodletools.
Using a database to search for articles takes practice. You may have to repeat your search several times in different databases. Don't give up and ask for help if you need it.
Most databases will have the appropriate citation done for you. You can simply copy and paste it to your works cited page. Below is the format, just in case...
Last, First M. “Article Title.” Publication Title, volume, number, issue (if provided), date published, page numbers (if applicable). Database Name, DOI or URL.
Trier, James. “‘Cool’ Engagements with YouTube: Part 2.” Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy, vol. 50, no. 7, April 2007, pp. 598-603. JSTOR, https:doi.org/10.1598/JAAL.50.7.8.
More Citation Resources
Use Noodletools for note-taking and a bibliography in MLA style.
Click on the image above to get started.
Need Help?
NoodleTools Slide Show Tutorial