Skip to main content

English 10 - Social Injustice Research: Home

English 10 Social Injustice Research

Suggested Databases

Click here for home access usernames and passwords. You must be logged into your MCPS Google account to view this document.

 

Database Search Tips

Search by Subject:   is the most precise way to search article databases. Database looks for subjects only in the subject heading or descriptor field, where the most relevant words appear

Search by Keyword: is how you typically search web search engines.  Think of important words or phrases and type them in to get results.

Advanced Search Options:

Boolean operators:

  • They connect your search words together to either narrow or broaden your set of results.
  • The three basic boolean operators are: ANDOR, and NOT.

Use AND in a search to:

  • narrow your results
  • tell the database that ALL search terms must be present in the resulting records

Use OR in a search to:

  • connect two or more similar concepts (synonyms)
  • broaden your results, telling the database that ANY of your search terms can be present in the resulting records

Use NOT in a search to:

  • exclude words from your search
  • narrow your search, telling the database to ignore concepts that may be implied by your search terms

Stop Words:

Stop words are frequently occurring, insignificant words that appear in a database record, article or web page.

Common stop words include: a, an, the, in, of, on, are

Noodle Tools

Use Noodletools for taking notes and a bibliography in MLA style. 

Click on the image  to get started.

Need Help? 

Getting Started: Quick Guide

Citations‚Äč

How to Cite your Source Video Tutorials

More Video Tutorials

More Research Help

Click on the Picture for Research Help

Presentation Tips

Tips for an Awesome Google Slides Presentation

Keep it Simple - decide which information is most important, organize that information into a speech or presentation

Limit the amount of text on your slides - Remember your slideshow should be a visual representation of the information you are presenting.

Be Prepared - Know your topic and the main ideas you want to present.

Practice Makes Perfect - Once you have prepared your presentation, practice with a friend, family member, or in front of a mirror. Remember the more you practice, the more comfortable you will feel presenting.

Click Here for a Sample Slide